Moving to the concrete

I’ve written almost nothing since returning to the classroom Part of it is that I’m tired at the end of the day, but that can’t be everything.

I think that what has happened is that my mind is no fully occupied with the present, with the concrete.

I’m not thinking about the big ideas of educational research, policy and practice as I go through my day; I’m thinking about my students, my lessons, student assessment, school meetings. This is very important, but conceptually low-level thinking.

On the one hand, I don’t mind: it is my job after all. But on the other, I feel that I’ve lost something. Give me a few days. I need to worth through some ideas.

Leave a Reply

