My Favourite No

Just stumbled across this terrific video.

I wouldn’t call this a “warm-up” so much as I would call it an excellent formative assessment. For me, a warm-up should be something simple and straightforward, used to get everyone moving forward. I use arithmetic or very simple symbolic manipulation just to get things going. To me, it’s like a bit of gentle walking and stretching BEFORE a workout.

I like the activity in the video because

  1. It’s a quick and efficient way to find out what students can do. The question is straightforward enough that the teacher can easily identify and remediate difficulties.
  2. It’s cheap and low-tech. Save your money; use what’s already there.
  3. It helps create an environment for learning without psychological threat. Total respect to Leah Alcala.

This is good stuff. Total respect to Leah Alcala.

Leave a Reply

