Teach Your Children Well

Here’s my friend Jack Shalom of New York City talking about teaching. The talk is more political than this blog normally is, but I think you’ll find his approach interesting and refreshing.

Sadly reblogging doesn’t copy the player for the radio interview. Please follow the link to the original and listen to the interview. Tell Jack that John sent you.

Jack Shalom

A little more than six months ago, I was volunteering at radio station WBAI, and I got into a conversation in the hallway with radio producer Mitchel Cohen about education. He started recording me, and a few hours later, we were still talking. Mitchel brilliantly edited all our talk down into a ten minute interview. He did a great job–I actually sound coherent, and as if I know what I am talking about. It was my first introduction to being on radio:

We talk about charter schools, Teach for America, New York City politicians, educational priorities, and the teaching profession. I think you’ll find it interesting.

View original post

One thought on “Teach Your Children Well

  1. Thanks, John! Sorry about the re-blogging issue. I guess that’s a bug (feature?) in WordPress. Anyway, if your readers click on your “View original” link, they’ll be able to play the interview.

    It’s so nice to read your blog and get the view from a different country. I would say that from what I have been reading here on your blog, that in Canada, you are two to three years behind us in the crazy race to privatize public education.

    And, of course, you’re right, it’s entirely political, and your political landscape is very different from ours. Still, it’s good to know what to watch out for, and prepare accordingly.

    Like

Leave a Reply

